Phillantropic Opportunities

Sydney Medical School celebrates our research achievements

Researchers from The George Institute for Global Health were among more than 50 health industry staff, researchers and students whose numerous awards were highlighted at Sydney Medical School’s annual Celebratory Dinner on 1 April 2014.

Among other researchers from The University of Sydney, The George Institute’s researchers were recognised and celebrated due to their outstanding contributions to health research in Australia.

The George Institute for Global Health’s Professor Craig Anderson was one of five who received Sydney Medical School’s Distinguished Professorial Achievement Award.  This was awarded for his sustained achievements in this research, teaching and learning alongside his contributions to the University of Sydney.   The award is based on the nominees’ exceptional performance in all areas, but particularly in the past three years.

Professors Stephen MacMahon, John Chalmers, Bruce Neale, Mark Woodward, Craig Anderson, Anushka Patel, Anthony Rodgers and Vlado Perkovic were recognised for being named the top ranked project grant team by the NHMRC.  This award acknowledged the top 20 of the 5236 applications peer reviewed for funding in 2012 by the Australian Health and Medical Research by the National Health and Research Council (NHMRC).

Professor John Chalmers was also commended for being named a High Achiever amongst fellow Australian researchers in his work for Australian Health and Medical Research by the NHMRC.

Dr Clara Chow was recognised for receiving the Ross Hohnen Award for Research Excellence from the Heart Foundation, for her research on the Quadpill.

Professor Stephen MacMahon received the RT Hall Prize from the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand, and was named National Social Entrepreneur of the Year by Ernst and Young.   He was awarded for leading a global program of clinical and epidemiological research on the causes, prevention and treatment of cardiovascular diseases for more than two decades.

Professor Alan Cass was acknowledged for receiving the TJ Neale Award from the Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology, for having contributed most to the emergence or furtherance of knowledge in a particular field of Nephrology.