Dr Brendon Neuen

Dr Brendon Neuen

Senior Research Fellow

Ph.D. MBBS(Hons I) MSc(Oxon)

Dr Brendon Neuen is a Staff Specialist Nephrologist and Director of the Kidney Trials Unit at Royal North Shore Hospital and Senior Research Fellow at The George Institute for Global Health, Australia. He graduated in medicine at James Cook University with 1st Class Honours and an Academic Medal; holds a Masters in Global Health and Epidemiology from the University of Oxford where he was fully funded by a Clarendon Scholarship and received the prize for the top ranked dissertation; and a PhD from the University of New South Wales with the Faculty Award for outstanding contribution to research. He is a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and a Fellow of the American Society of Nephrology.

He is an internationally recognised expert on the efficacy and safety of SGLT2 inhibitors and serves as the founding Secretariat of the SGLT2 Meta-Analysis Cardio-Renal Trialists' Consortium (SMART-C). His work has directly informed more than 25 major international and national clinical practice guidelines, position papers and scientific statements which define best practice for the care of people with type 2 diabetes and kidney disease, including the Kidney Disease Improving Global Outcomes (KDIGO) Guidelines and the American Diabetes Association (ADA) Standards of Care.

He is involved in the leadership of multiple ongoing international multi-centre randomized trials and has published over 70 peer-reviewed articles in general medical journals including The Lancet, BMJ and Annals of Internal Medicine, and specialty journals including Lancet Diabetes and Endocrinology, Circulation, and the Journal of the American Society of Nephrology.

In addition, he provides strategic direction on research and education by serving on boards or committees of the Australasian Kidney Trials Network, Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology, and the International Society of Nephrology. He served as an Editorial Fellow of the Journal of the American Society of Nephrology from 2019-2020.