Distinguished Fellows

Distinguished Fellows

Our Distinguished Fellows are external leading health researchers, health policy experts, policy makers and health advocates.

We work with our Fellows to drive conversations focused on better treatments, better care and healthier societies. For example, we support our Fellows to highlight specific challenges and issues through blogs, public talks and other events, videos, social media, and policy papers. We sponsor conference presentations or similar announcements related to their research, and they engage with stakeholders through our major centres in Australia, China, India and the United Kingdom.

Do you want to be part of the global debate?

As a Distinguished Fellow you’ll stay right where you are at your own organisation. We’ll support your thought leadership work, amplifying your insights to key stakeholders around the world.

To find out more, contact Maarinke van der Meulen, Policy Program Officer;
T +61 2 8052 4322

Carolyn A. Reynolds

carolyn reynolds

Distinguished Fellow, The George Institute for Global Health

Carolyn Reynolds has been driving change in global health and development and US foreign policy for three decades. Carolyn is a Senior Associate with the Global Health Policy Center at the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS), where she is serving as an expert adviser to the CSIS Commission for Health Security. She is also a consultant to the World Bank Group and other international organisations.

Corinna Hawkes

Distinguished Fellow, The George Institute for Global Health

Corinna Hawkes is Professor of Food Policy and Director of the Centre for Food Policy at City University of London, Vice Chair of the London Child Obesity Taskforce established by the Mayor of London, and serves on a variety of international initiatives. Between 2015-18 she was Co-Chair of the Independent Expert Group of the Global Nutrition Report, which tracks progress on addressing malnutrition in all its forms.


Professor Edwine Barasa

Edwine Barasa

Distinguished Fellow, The George Institute for Global Health

Edwine is the director of the Nairobi Programme of the KEMRI-Wellcome Trust Research Programme and also heads the Programme’s Health Economics Research Unit (HERU). Edwine is also a Visiting Professor of Health Economics at the University of Oxford. Edwine has several years of experience of practice, advisory, and conducting health economics and financing research in Kenya and in the broader Sub-Saharan African region. 


Göran Tomson

Distinguished Fellow, The George Institute for Global Health

Göran Tomson is a Professor of International Health Systems Research, linked to the Medical Management Centre at the Department of Learning, Informatics, Management and Ethics at the Karolinska Institutet. He is a Counselor UN Agenda 2030 at the President’s office at KI. He is a co-founder and a Senior Advisor at the Swedish Institute for Global Health Transformation at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, and Co-founder ReAct, the international network to contain antibiotic resistance, responsible for coordinating the work that led to the Alliance for Health Policy and Systems Research now at WHO.


Dr Janine Mohamed


Distinguished Fellow, The George Institute for Global Health

Dr Janine Mohamed is a proud Narrunga Kaurna woman from South Australia. Over the past 20 years, Janine has worked in nursing, management, project management, and workforce and health policy in the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health sector. She was awarded an Atlantic Fellows for Social Equity Fellowship in 2019, and, in January 2020, was awarded a Doctorate of Nursing honoris causa by Edith Cowan University.



Jaime Miranda

Distinguished Fellow, The George Institute for Global Health

J. JAIME MIRANDA, MD, MSc, PhD, FFPH, is Research Professor at the Department of Medicine, School of Medicine, and Director of the CRONICAS Center of Excellence in Chronic Diseases, both at Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia (UPCH) in Lima, Peru. With >350 peer-reviewed publications, his work brings together epidemiological and health policy aspects of chronic non-communicable diseases in low- and middle-income countries, with an emphasis on obesity, hypertension, diabetes, and mental health.

Jaime Miranda

Juan Angel Rivera Dommarco


Distinguished Fellow, The George Institute for Global Health

Dr Juan A. Rivera is General Director of the National Institute of Public Health in Mexico and Professor of Nutrition at the Mexican School of Public Health. Juan is Executive Board member of the International Association of National Public Health Institutes, member of The EAT-Lancet commission, member of the National Academy of Medicine of Mexico, member of the American Society for Nutrition and, Board Directors´ Member of the Pact for Early Childhood.

Michael Moore AM

Distinguished Fellow, The George Institute for Global Health

Michael Moore is Adjunct Professor at the University of Canberra, Visiting Professor at the University of Technology Sydney, is the former CEO of the Public Health Association of Australia and the Immediate-Past President of the World Federation of Public Health Associations.

Michael Moore

Olive Kobusingye

olive kobusingye

Distinguished Fellow, The George Institute for Global

Dr Olive Kobusingye is an accident and emergency surgeon and injury epidemiologist. She is a Senior Research Fellow at Makerere University School of Public Health in Kampala, Uganda, where she heads the Trauma, Injury, & Disability Unit. In 2016, she was appointed Board Chair of the Road Traffic Injury Research Network, an international agency working to improve road safety through research, with a focus on low- and middle-income countries. She is also a member of the World Bank’s Global Road Safety Facility Technical Advisory Group.

Dr Ophira Ginsburg

Distinguished Fellow, The George Institute for Global Health

Dr Ophira Ginsburg is a medical oncologist and global women’s health researcher with technical and policy expertise in cancer prevention and control.

The Elsa Atkin Distinguished Fellowship recognises the significant contribution of female leaders to advance women’s health equity. The role is named in honour of Ms Elsa Atkin AM, a past board director at the Institute, and acknowledges Ms Atkin’s passion and dedication to this cause.


Rajani Ved

Rajani ved

Distinguished Fellow, The George Institute for Global Health

Rajani Ved is a medical doctor with public health training. Rajani is the Executive Director, National Health Systems Resource Centre in New Delhi, India and a Visiting Scientist at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. She has about 30 years of experience working on community based health services delivery and health systems strengthening.

Shekhar Saxena

Distinguished Fellow, The George Institute for Global Health

Dr Saxena is a psychiatrist by training, and past Director of the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse at the World Health Organisation (WHO). His work has involved evaluating evidence on effective public health measures and providing advice and technical assistance to ministries of health on prevention and management of mental, developmental, neurological and substance use disorders and suicide prevention, establishing partnerships with academic centres and civil society organisations and global advocacy for mental health and substance use issues.


Trish Greenhalgh


Professor Trish Greenhalgh is our inaugural Distinguished Fellow

Trish Greenhalgh is Professor of Primary Care Health Sciences at Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences and a Fellow of Green Templeton College at the University of Oxford. Trish is an internationally recognised academic in primary health care and trained as a GP.